

Karnataka State Council for Science and Technology

Indian Institute of Science Campus, Bengaluru - 560 012

Telephone: 080-23341652, 23348848, 23348849 ♦ Telefax: 080-23348840

Email: office@kscst-iisc.ernet.in, office@kscst.org.in • Website: www.kscst.iisc.ernet.in, www.kscst.org.in

H. Hemanth Kumar **Executive Secretary**

Ref: 6.1.11/YS/2019/781

The Rogestoon readen

09.01.2020

Vice Chancellor Kuvempu University Gnana Sahvadri,

Shankaraghatta, Shimoga Dist 577 451

Dear Sir / Madam,

Sub: Nominations invited for the State Awards for Scientists and Engineers for the year 2019

As you may be aware, the Government of Karnataka has been honoring well-known Scientists and Engineers through several awards. These awards are given in the name of Sir M. Visvesvsraya, Sir C. V. Raman, Dr. Raja Ramanna, Prof. Satish Dhawan and Dr. Kalpana Chawla.

Karnataka State Council for Science and Technology (KSCST) has been entrusted with the responsibility of operationalization of these awards. The award committee invites the nominations for these State Awards for the year 2019.

I request you to kindly circulate the information to eligible candidates in your University and nominate a few Scientists and Engineers. The last date for receipt of nominations is 17.02.2020. Eligibility criteria, proforma and other details can be downloaded from KSCST website www.kscst.org.in OR www.kscst.iisc.ernet.in

Please find enclosed the information brochure for circulation at your university.

Thanking you,

Yours sincerely,

(H. Hemanth Kumar)

Vice-Chancellor's

Encl: Information Brochures

Registras

Registrar's



Department of Information Technology Biotechnology and Science & Technology

Government of Karnataka

State Award for Scientists and Engineers

Nominations Invited for the year 2019

Sir M. Visvesvaraya Award

Dr. Raja Ramanna Award

Sir C.V. Raman Award

Prof. Satish Dhawan Award

Dr. Kalpana Chawla Award



Karnataka State Council for Science and Technology

Indian Institute of Science Campus, Bengaluru-560 012

Tel: 080-2334 1652, 2334 8848, 2334 8849

Email: office.kscst@iisc.ac.in

website: www.kscst.org.in / www.kscst.iisc.ernet.in

State Award for Scientists and Engineers Nominations Invited for the year 2019

With a view to recognize and reward Scientific and Technological talent in the state, the Government of Karnataka has instituted several awards to the Scientists and Engineers of the State who have made significant contribution towards the development of the State in various fields of Science and Technology. These awards are being given every year since 1996.

Sir M. Visvesvaraya lifetime achievement Award for Senior Scientists / Engineers

The Government of Karnataka instituted Sir M. Visvesvaraya award to recognize and honor the senior Scientists / Engineers for their lifetime contributions for the development of science and technology in the State. Two awards will be given every year.

Eligibility

- They should be born in Karnataka or must have served in Karnataka for over twenty years.
- They must have contributed significantly in their field of Fundamental Research.
- They must have significant contributions to National and Human Development.
- Candidates should be above 50 years of age as on 28th February 2019.
- They must not have received the same award earlier

This award carries a cash prize of Rs.2,00,000 (Rupees Two Lakh), a memento and a citation.

Dr. Raja Ramanna Award for Scientists / Engineers

The Government of Karnataka instituted Dr. Raja Ramanna Award in the year 2004. This award is given to Scientists / Engineers who has made a significant contribution in the field of Science Education / History & Philosophy of Science / Science & Society

Eligibility

- They should be born in Karnataka or domiciled for at least twenty years in Karnataka.
- They should have published at least five research papers in National/ International journals.
- They must have done exceptional research work in the State of Karnataka.
- Candidates should be above 50 years of age as on 28th February 2019.
- They must not have received the same award earlier.

This award carries a cash prize of Rs.1,50,000 (Rupees One Lakh Fifty Thousand), a memento and a citation.

Sir C.V. Raman Award for Scientists

To encourage the Scientists in the State, the Government of Karnataka instituted Sir C V Raman Award. This award is given to scientists who have made outstanding contributions in their fields. The award committee invites nominations from eligible scientists in the following fields. Five awards will be given in this category.

- Physical Sciences & Mathematics
- Chemical Sciences
- Medical Sciences
- Life Sciences
- Agricultural Science and Animal Husbandry

Prof. Satish Dhawan Award for Engineers

To encourage Engineers in the State, the Government of Karnataka instituted Prof. Satish Dhawan Award in the year 2003. This award is given to Engineers who have made outstanding contributions in the Engineering fields including Earth Sciences. Four awards will be given in this category.

Dr. Kalpana Chawla Award for Women Scientist / Engineer

To encourage the women Scientists and Engineers in the State, the Government of Karnataka has instituted an award in the name of Dr. Kalpana Chawla in the year 2003. This award is given to a woman Scientist/ Engineer who has made outstanding contributions in her field for the Development of Science or Technology in the State.

Eligibility for Sir C.V. Raman, Prof. Satish Dhawan and Dr. Kalpana Chawla Awards

- They should be born in Karnataka or domiciled for at least twenty years in Karnataka.
- They should have published at least five research papers in National/ International journals.
- They must have done exceptional research work in the State of Karnataka.
- Candidates should be below 50 years of age as on 28th February 2019.
- They must not have received the same award earlier.

These awards carry a cash prize of Rs.1,00,000/-(Rupees One Lakh) a memento and a citation.

Women Scientists / Engineers (below 50 years of age) are eligible to apply for Sir C V Raman and Prof. Satish Dhawan Awards in addition to Dr. Kalpana Chawla Award. However they have to submit the separate nominations for each award.

PROFORMA can be downloaded from our websites: www.kscst.org.in / www.kscst.iisc.ernet.in.

The nominations should be sent on or before 17th Feb, 2020 to the following address:

The Secretary

Karnataka State Council for Science and Technology

Indian Institute of Science Campus, Bengaluru 560 012
Ph: 080 - 2334 1652, 2334 8848, 2334 8849,
E-mail: office.kscst@iisc.ac.in
website: www.kscst.org.in & www.kscst.iisc.ernet.in

NOTE:

- Nominations should be sent in the form of hardcopy
- Submit the separate nominations for each award
- Original documents should be produced whenever called for.
- Canvassing in any form entails disqualification.
- Decision of selection committee is final and binding